Save/not save visitor changes… What is that all about? | deskish

Save/not save visitor changes… What is that all about?

Different combinations of permission settings result in a very different experience for your visitors. Here are a few examples:

Interactive playground:

Wanna have your visitors play around with all the things on your desk? … (temporarily) add personalised stuff to your page? … continue a story/collection that you started?

  1. Turn ON add, edit, and/or move
  2. Choose anyone should be able to make changes
  3. Choose don't save visitor changes

Characteristics:

  • Leaves your original desk untouched
  • Makes you page interactive
  • Game, collage, moodboard, …
  • NOTE: If you allow visitors to create a copy of your desk, they will be able to play with it and then share their changed version of your desk on i.e. a social network or save it to their own account.

Feedback desk:

Want your client to be able to add a note without signing up or logging in? …your friends contribute to your collection/story without signing up or logging in? …random people to spam your page? (If not, don't share the link with everyone)

  1. Turn ON add, edit, and move
  2. Choose anyone should be able to make changes
  3. Choose save visitor changes

Characteristics:

  • All changes are made on the ORIGINAL desk
  • Anyone with the link can make the permitted type of changes (add, edit, move)
  • Mockup, moodboard, presentation, …

For a more detailed information about all the permission & privacy settings, to to this article.